Taste of India or What I Did Tonight

My wife and I (yes I am married for those that didn’t know) signed up for a community education course in Thief River Falls Minnesota to learn how to make an Indian (from India) dish. Sure, we could have looked up an Indian dish online and try to make it, but we were trying to find something we could do together out in the community. My wife and I are both 25 (I will be 26 in a week), and I think we were the only ones under 40 who were there. Who knew that nobody my age goes to these things? The dish we made was “Chicken and Spinach Curry Over Rice”. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rice (Basmati rice or any long grain rice)
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 5 medium size red onions chopped (white or yellow is fine)
  • 3 boneless chicken breasts cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, cloves, and black pepper mixture (to prepare mixture use 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon each of cloves and black pepper. Store in air tight container)
  • 1 tablespoon of crushed ginger, garlic and jalapeño pepper mixture (to prepare, 1 medium size piece of peeled ginger (about 4 inches), 4 cloves of garlic, and 1 medium size jalapeño. Place in chopper and chop until you get a crushed mix. Refrigerate leftover mixture).
  • 1 package chopped spinach (thawed and well drained).
  • 1/2 bunch  cilantro-chopped
  • 1 – 6oz. can tomato paste.
  • Salt to taste.

Preparation:

  1. Cook rice according to directions and set aside
  2. Using a large cooking pot, melt butter over medium high heat
  3. Add chopped onions and stir fry for about 5 minutes
  4. Add cinnamon, clove, and black pepper mixture and stir fry another 5 minutes
  5. Add ginger, garlic, and jalapeño mixture and and continue to stir fry
  6. When onions turn golden brown, stir in the chopped spinach and cilantro and continue to cook for 10 minutes
  7. Add the tomato paste, stir and cook for another 5 minutes
  8. Add chicken and salt to pot. Stir to mix and cover pot with lid.
  9. Cook the chicken and spinach over medium low heat for about 20-30 minutes or until the chicken pieces are cooked
  10. Serve over hot rice

Well, that is it. I really loved the food. It was fairly aromatic, but really good. It was surprisingly very spicy, which isn’t something I expected because I like spice and these ingredients didn’t seem like they would add too much heat.

We didn’t know what to expect when we went there. On a side note, my wife was very turned off by it. She saw 5 onions and her face turned to isshhhh face really quickly (she hates onions). I loved it though, ate the whole plate :).

Tomorrow I am hosting a brown bag lunch on Tibco Business Works. As far as I know this is the first brown bag lunch hosted by a developer at my job. I am hoping to turn this into a once a month thing, but we’ll see how this goes. I’ll probably blog about the experience tomorrow night.

Father, Husband, Software Developer, Podcaster, Blogger, Gamer, and the Future Leader of the Zombie Resistance. My thoughts are my own.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Taste of India or What I Did Tonight
  1. Killick says:

    You’re in charge of this year’s Diwali food. Don’t forget to wear proper attire.

Leave a Reply

Categories
