The Death Of A Software Project

After working heavily with a messaging server at work, I decided it might be fun to write my own messaging server. I launched an open source project on Codeplex called Gabriel Messaging Service (GMS) and started working on it. After a few, well, more than a “few”, attempts at writing the thing I gave up. It is not that I could not get the code to work. I could. It was that I was never happy with what I wrote. I eventually deleted the source code and abandoned the project.

After months of letting the project sit out on Codeplex, yesterday I requested the project be unpublished, and today I deleted it. Abandoned projects seem to be running rampant on some of the open source repositories out there, some don’t even have usable source code checked in. I could have let this project go on living, but I felt kind of embarrassed by its existence. I have felt recently that code I release to the public, and, code that I don’t (i.e. code I write at work) is something that reflects, to a certain extent, who I am as a software engineer (in the making). Releasing incomplete, poorly written, abandoned code is not who I want to be as a developer and not who I am as a developer. For this reason I killed off the project.

I wonder if I am not alone in this feeling? Does anyone else think that the code they write represents them in some way?

Father, Husband, Software Developer, Podcaster, Blogger, Gamer, and the Future Leader of the Zombie Resistance. My thoughts are my own.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Coding, Software Engineering

Leave a Reply

Categories

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

