A Software Portfolio

For quite awhile now I have thought about creating an online portfolio of software projects I have worked on. Outside of work I cannot say I have worked on much, however, I do have some things out there. I have not created such a portfolio for one reason: I fear that what I have coded is not “good enough”. Sure, I have created projects that work, but they are by no stretch of the imagination masterpieces of software development.

This begs the question, should a person highlight the software they have written if they feel that software is not of the utmost quality, or, does the quality of software mean nothing compared to the fact you have worked on anything?

For instance, I have 2 projects open on Codeplex. One project was an application to track product keys. This project is functional, but was written ages ago when I definitely had no idea what I was doing. And the other is a messaging server (think JMS) that I completely abandoned (at least so far). I obviously would not highlight the messaging server, but what about the product key manager? Also, I did create and publish a game to XBLIG. The game is not very good (I am a software engineer (in the making) not a game designer), but I did complete it. Of course the source code is not visible here. Should I show this off, or not?

Another way of framing this question is: what should and should not go into a Software Engineer’s public portfolio, or, what should a Software Engineer’s portfolio look like?

Father, Husband, Software Developer, Podcaster, Blogger, Gamer, and the Future Leader of the Zombie Resistance. My thoughts are my own.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Portfolio

Leave a Reply

Categories
